

PRESENT: Colette Horn, Frank Daly, Larry Perrone, Rick Farr, Doug Parks, Amy Peck, and Josette Wheatley.

ALSO PRESENT: John Viola (General Manager), 7 Association members, and approximately 30 attendees through Microsoft Teams.

Call to Order – Colette Horn called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda

Mr. Daly moved to accept the agenda, Mr. Farr seconded.

The agenda was amended to remove the discussion topic on the Administration Building renovations. Mr. Daly moved to accept the amended agenda, Mr. Farr seconded, all in favor.

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Parks moved to accept the minutes from the June 22, 2022 Regular Meeting, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor.

Mr. Parks moved to accept the minutes from the June 27, 2022 Special Meeting, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor.

President's Remarks – Colette Horn –

Dr. Horn reported of the upcoming election and encouraged everyone to vote. This year, online voting has been added and if you have multiple properties, the votes will be weighted.

As this is the last meeting before the election, she thanked Larry Perrone for his three years of service on the Board, and Amy Peck and Josette Wheatley for serving on the Board as appointees.

After Dr. Horn's remarks, Mr. Perrone resigned as Treasurer of the Board. Dr. Horn accepted his resignation.

GM Report – John Viola (attached)

Treasurer's Report – reported by John Viola (attached)

Joe Reynolds – 84 Watertown Road Patti Stevens – 171 Nottingham Lane Dutch Oostveen – 12 Lord Guy Terrace Jack Levering – 6 Weeping Willow Court Becky Colt-Ferguson – 7 Carriage Lane Stuart Lakernick – 9 Widows Watch Court

Purchases Requests

Road Line Striping – Public Works – Mr. Parks moved to accept the recommendation, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor.

CPI Violations – None

Unfinished Business – None

New Business -

MDOT Route 90 Subcommittee – Amy Peck

Discussion: Board were all in agreement of a work group for the Route 90 expansion. Dr. Horn suggested the group should be a combination of OPA staff and volunteers. She instructed John Viola to reach out to MDOT on the timeframe.

Motion for the information/activities required by the BOD to hold a referendum for the construction renovation of the Ocean Pines Volunteer Fire Department South Station – Frank Daly

Discussion: Mr. Daly commented that several questions need to be answered prior to the referendum regarding cost, funding, finance of shortfall, who will own the building, and who will control the change orders. Mr. Parks noted that an expiration date on the money provided by the State is needed.

The motion was approved.

Motion for capital fundraising for OPVFD building project – Colette Horn

Discussion: Dave Van Gasbeck will be working jointly with the General Manager on the hiring of a professional fundraising organization. The grant money provided by the State cannot be used for the fundraising.

The motion was approved.

Motion to approve proposed Food and Beverage Amenity Rules – Colette Horn

Discussion: Mr. Parks noted that Section 3 is too vague, and a time frame needs to be added depending upon the severity of the offense.

Mr. Parks moved to table the motion for further information, Mr. Daly seconded, and all in favor for tabling the motion.

Review of Resolution M-04 – Colette Horn

Discussion: All agreed that no changes are needed to the process. Dr. Horn will inform the By-Laws and Resolution Committee that the Resolution was reviewed.

Motion to declare the existence of open violations in legal and suspend voting rights and the use of Association amenities – Josette Wheatley

Discussion: Mr. Parks noted that 3.01C of the Bylaws already allow the enforcement of this procedure. Dr. Horn noted that the motion needs to be amended to state fee-based amenities.

Ms. Wheatley moved to approve the motion, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor.

Appointments –

R. Lewis Furman – 1st Term – Aquatics Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. Harold (Dick) Keiling – 3rd Term – Budget & Finance Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. Dr. Horn noted that Mr. Keiling would also continue as Chair of the Committee. Carrie Morrison – 1st Term – Communications Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. Patricia Seidl – 2nd Term – Communications Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. Diana Snyder – 2nd Term – Communications Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. Patricia Gamby – 1st Term – Environmental & Natural Assets Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Parks seconded, all in favor. Cathryn Noble – 1st Term – Racquet Sports Committee Dr. Horn moved to approve, Mr. Daly seconded, all in favor. William Barnard – Chair – Recreation & Parks Committee Dr. Horn announced that Patti Stevens was stepping down as Chair. All were in favor.

Adjournment - Mr. Daly moved to adjourn, Mr. Parks seconded, all in favor.

The meeting adjourned at 1:16 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Rick Farr, Secretary